hit counter for tumblr
CPPS - Centre for Public Policy Studies
  • Home
  • About Us
  • Events
  • Policy Areas
  • Publication
  • Resources
  • Be in The Loop
Election Watch


Growing Together: ASEAN at 47
Date: 08 Aug 2014
Time: 03:00 PM - 06:00 PM
Venue: Royal Lake Club Kuala Lumpur


August 8th this year marks the 47th anniversary of the establishment of the Association of the South East Asian Nations (ASEAN). The Bangkok Declaration is considered to be the beginning of this establishment of what is now ASEAN of 10 member states. For more than four decades, ASEAN has helped to move the region from conflict and competition to closer cooperation.As Dr Noeleen Heyzer, a former Executive Secretary of UN ESCAP puts it “ The ASEAN of today has taken the foundation and built a new collective vision for 2030-to become Resilient, Inclusive, Competitive and Harmonies- a “ Rich” ASEAN for a more integrated and prosperous region. The first major landmark on this journey will be the establishment, by 2015, of the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC)”.

ASEAN will not be made all at once. It will build through concrete achievements which first create ASEAN solidarity. The coming together of the nations of ASEAN will require all ASEAN member states to achieve a basic level of socio-economic and political standards.  The solidarity in ASEAN thus established will make it plain that concerted initiatives are needed to deal with gaps of inequality between the ASEAN older and newer members. The ASEAN approach rested on three community pillars of the ASEAN Community namely, the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community (ASCC), ASEAN Economic Community (AEC), and the ASEAN Political and Security Community (APSC). These pillars have not co-existed without challenges. To discuss further on the challenges and way forward to address these challenges, ASLI Centre for Public Policy Studies (CPPS) in conjunction with ASEAN Day, will organize a forum that provides a unique opportunity for several ASEAN member states to reflect on their shared history and their envisioned future for ASEAN.

Among the diplomatic corps joining the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Hon Dato' Hamzah Zainudin, will be HE Mr Ong Keng Yong (Singapore), HE Mr. J.Eduardo Malaya (Philippines) and HE Mr. Herman Prayitno (Indonesia). Furthermore, HE Dr Miyagawa (Japan) will elaborate on  ASEAN -Japan relations. 

Provisional agenda is available upon request. To register, please contact Siti Nurhafizah at siti@asli.com.my  

Copyright © 2011 CPPS. All Rights Reserved.